Army Logo-v4.png Coat_of_Arms_of_Philip,_Duke_of_Edinburgh.png

HRH Prince Philip Duke of Edinburgh

10 June 1921 - 9 April 2021

It is with the utmost sadness that we learned of the death of His Royal Highness The Duke of Edinburgh. His Royal Highness was hugely significant in the Armed Forces having served operationally himself for many years, and he was respected by all who served alongside him and after him. He was made Field Marshal of the British Army in 1953, a rank he held until his death, and he enjoyed strong lifelong connections with many British and Commonwealth services, regiments and corps. His loss is deeply felt and our thoughts are with Her Majesty The Queen and the Royal Family.

Continue to main site.



The British Army in Germany

With the announcement of the Strategic Defence and Security Review (SDSR) of 2010, the Government stated that it would rebase the British Army from Germany to the UK by 2020. In-line with this the re-basing has now been completed and the surplus estate is being handed back to the German authorities. 


Where we are located

The remaining elements of British Forces in Germany are located at:

  • Normandy Barracks, Paderborn: 
    • Commander British Army Germany
    • Germany Enabling Office (GEO)
    • Germany Support Unit
    • Sennelager Training Centre
    • Command and Staff Trainer
    • Combined Arms Tactical Trainer
    • 23 Amphibious Engineer Squadron Royal Engineers (also located in Minden)
    • Exercising Troops accommodation
  • Athlone Barracks, Paderborn:
    • Exercising troops technical accommodation
    • Land Training Fleet (Sennelager)
  • Monchengladbach: Vehicle storage depot
  • Wulfen: Munitions storage facility