We use cookies to improve your experience on our website and ensure the information we provide is more relevant. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we will assume you are happy to accept all cookies on the Army website. You can change your cookie settings at any time.


The British Army in Germany

In line with the announcement of the Strategic Defence and Security Review (SDSR) of 2010, it is the Government's intention to rebase the British Army from Germany to the UK by 2020. On the 4 November 2015, the Ministry of Defence confirmed that the final Field Army units will withdraw from Germany in 2019 in accordance with the Government’s SDSR 2010 commitment.

Currently, the major concentrations of British Forces in Germany are located in Westfalen Garrison, which includes:

  • Catterick Barracks, Bielefeld – HQ British Forces Germany, HQ Bielefeld Station
  • Mansergh Barracks, Gütersloh (part of Bielefeld Station) – 26 Regiment Royal Artillery
  • Normandy Barracks, Paderborn – HQ 20thArmoured Infantry Brigade, HQ Westfalen Garrison, HQ Paderborn Station, 1 Military Working Dogs Regiment
  • Barker Barracks, Paderborn – 35 Engineer Regiment, 1st Battalion The Princess of Wales's Royal Regiment, 3 Armoured Close Support Battalion REME
  • Athlone Barracks, Paderborn – The Queen’s Royal Hussars
  • Dempsey Barracks, Paderborn – 1 Armoured Medical Regiment

Army Basing Programme

On 5 March 2013, the Regular Army Basing Plan was announced to support the full implementation of the Army 2020 plan. The plan sets out the location changes for the Army and also confirms the drawdown of all units from Germany by 2020.

Celle Station, Münster Station and the Rheindahlen Military Complex have closed and that estate has been handed back to the German Federal authorities.

2013: The rebasing of Headquarters British Forces Germany from Rheindahlen to Bielefeld in summer 2013 has placed it at the centre of the remaining military population in Germany, from where it will be better able to provide key services to the remaining troops, their families and support staff.

2014: In 2014 a number of units were disbanded or amalgamated, allowing the closure of Hameln Station on the disbandment of 28 Engineer Regiment.

2015: The major rebasing moves from Germany occurred in 2015 when 7 Armoured Brigade units moved from Bergen-Hohne and Fallingbostel, Headquarters 1 (United Kingdom) Armoured Division moved from Herford, and 16 Signal Regiment and 1 Armoured Division Signal Regiment rebased from Elmpt and Herford to Stafford, enabling the closure and release to the German Federal authorities of Bergen-Hohne Garrison and Elmpt and Herford Stations.

2016: In 2016, 5 RIFLES from Paderborn and 6 Regt RLC from Gütersloh rebased to the UK, enabling the closure and release of Princess Royal Barracks, Gütersloh, and Alanbrooke Barracks, Paderborn; Tower Barracks, Dülmen, and Kiel Training Centre were also released in the same year.

2017: 1 Military Working Dogs rebase to the UK in 2017.

2019: The final moves occur in 2019 with remaining Field Army units - including elements of 20th Armoured Infantry Brigade - returning from Paderborn, Sennelager, Bielefeld and Gütersloh to the UK. Headquarters British Forces Germany will also close. A small number of detachments will remain following the drawdown to maintain and improve our close ties with Germany and its Armed Forces.

Find out more:

Share this page

Bookmark and Share