Army Book of the Year 2020

The British Army Military Book of the Year (#BAMBY) is the Army's own annual literary prize. Each year, a shortlist of books is considered by ten judges, Regular and Reserve.

The process begins in January each year with the winner announced in October, and presented with the prize at the Army’s own library, Prince Consort’s Library, Aldershot in December.

This year the announcement has been delayed due to COVID-19, but today we are pleased to announce that the winner of the British Army Military Book of the Year 2020 (#BAMBY20) is Professor Anthony King for his book, ‘Command: The Twenty First Century General’. 

The 2020 competition was the closest in years with only 3% of votes separating the top three books: 
1st -  Professor Anthony King - Command: The Twenty-First Century General. (CUP). 
2nd - Dr. Alexander Watson - The Fortress: The Great Siege of PrzemyOsl. (Penguin). 
3rd - Dr. Jonathan Fennell - Fighting the People's War: The British and Commonwealth Armies in the Second World War. (CUP). 
4th - Dr. Peter Caddick-Adams - Sand and Steel: A New History of D-Day. (Random House). 
5th - Roger Moorhouse - First to Fight: The Polish War 1939. (Random House). 
6th - Elliott Ackerman - Places and names: On War, Revolution, and Returning. (Penguin). 
7th - Yasha Levine - Surveillance Valley: The Secret Military History of the Internet. (Icon). 
The prize-giving will take place in the New Year and we will announce the long-list of books for the #BAMBY21 at the same time.  
Congratulations to Professor King on his much-deserved win!