Join us

The Armed Forces Operational Awards List, 2020

Ten members of the British Army have today been recognised in the Armed Forces Operational Awards
List, 2020.

These Service Personnel have been commended for displaying exemplary qualities while operating in
direct support of both the EU, UN and other partner organisations within Nigeria, Kuwait, Iraq and

Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

  • Colonel Andrew Timothy David JACKSON
  • Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)
  • Acting Major (now Captain) Patrick Francis Bryan KEATING, The Rifles
  • Queen’s Commendation for Valuable Service (QCVS)
  • Major (now Acting Lieutenant Colonel) Nigel Robert CAMPBELL, The Royal Irish Regiment,
  • Acting Major (now Major) Luke DENBY-HOLLIS, Royal Regiment of Artillery
  • Lieutenant Colonel (now Acting Colonel) Matthew Thomas KETTERER, Adjutant General’s Corps
  • Lieutenant Colonel Huw Charles Ewan LAW, Army Air Corps
  • Acting Sergeant (now Corporal) Samantha Jane LUMB, Intelligence Corps
  • Warrant Officer Class 2 Benjamin James MEDUS, The Princess of Wales’s Royal Regiment,
  • Corporal (now Acting Sergeant) Martins Idoko USHIE, Royal Army Medical Corps
  • Lieutenant William Fraser WHEELER, The Rifles

Approved Foreign Awards List


  • Corporal (now Sergeant) Ajaya Ram GURUNG, The Royal Gurkha Rifles
  • Corporal Gyanendra RAI, The Royal Gurkha Rifles
  • Colonel Nigel Peter RHODES
  • Colonel Matthew Richard WILKINSON

Medaille de la Defense Nationale (Echelon Bronze)

  • Major Grant Hamish RENTON, The Royal Logistic Corps,
  • Lieutenant Colonel Ian Michael COMBER, Royal Regiment of Artillery
  • Major Glyn FORSTER, Royal Regiment of Artillery
  • Major Carolyne Rebecca YOUNG, Royal Regiment of Artillery