Join us

British Army Book of the Year 2020 (#BAMBY20) - Shortlist

The British Army Military Book of the Year is the Army's own annual literary competition. Each year, a panel nominates a shortlist of around six books which are read and graded by ten serving judges. Today we announce the seven titles which will fight for the prize in 2020 (#BAMBY20).  

The seven books nominated for the British Army Military Book of the Year 2020 (#BAMBY20) shortlist are as follows:


Elliott Ackerman - Places and names: On War, Revolution, and Returning. (Penguin Books).

Dr. Peter Caddick-Adams - Sand and Steel: A New History of D-Day. (Random House).

Dr. Jonathan Fennell - Fighting the People's War: The British and Commonwealth Armies in the Second World War. (CUP).

Prof. Anthony King - Command: The Twenty-First Century General. (CUP).

Yasha Levine - Surveillance Valley: The Secret Military History of the Internet. (Icon).

Roger Moorhouse - First to Fight: The Polish War 1939. (Random House).

Dr. Alexander Watson - The Fortress: The Great Siege of PrzemyOsl. (Penguin Books).


Judging will be complete by September 2020 and the winner will be announced in October 2020. The prize-giving is planned to take place on Tuesday, 8th December 2020 at the Prince Consort's Library, Aldershot.