We use cookies to improve your experience on our website and ensure the information we provide is more relevant. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we will assume you are happy to accept all cookies on the Army website. You can change your cookie settings at any time.


The Duke of Lancaster's Regiment

The Regimental Family is wide. It includes our Cadet Detachments, Regimental Association Branches, affiliated ships, allied regiments, and our civic community.

The Duke of Lancaster's Regiment is the Infantry regiment of the North-West of England. It consists of two Regular Army Battalions (1 LANCS and 2 LANCS) and one Army Reserve Battalion (4 LANCS).

The Regiment was formed on 1st July 2006, by the amalgamation of the King's Own Royal Border Regiment, the King's Regiment and the Queen's Lancashire Regiment.

Her Majesty the Queen, the Duke of Lancaster, is our Colonel in Chief.

We are known as the "Lions of England".

The 2nd Battalion (2 LANCS) is based, with its families, at Weeton Barracks, Lancashire, near Blackpool.

It is a light role infantry battalion operating mainly on foot.

The battalion will start preparation in late 2016 for an operational tour in 2017.

Firing rifle

Share this page

Bookmark and Share