We use cookies to improve your experience on our website and ensure the information we provide is more relevant. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we will assume you are happy to accept all cookies on the Army website. You can change your cookie settings at any time.


Transition to civilian life

Welcome to the 15 (North East) Brigade Transition page. Our aim is to provide advice to personnel about to leave the Armed Forces and make informed decisions to settle within the Brigade area.

Civilian to soldierIssues of primary concern to those leaving the Armed Forces and their families tend to focus on the following five areas:

  • Employment - career selection or job search
  • Education - individual and family related course or school selection
  • Health - registration or transfer of existing medical care
  • Housing - registration for community housing or selection of rental property
  • Welfare - guidance and help from veteran organisations and programmes

The 15 (North East) Brigade Transition Officer will signpost personnel to subject matter experts in organisations such as service charities and other similar organisations, who will be able to advise on appropriate course of action.  Transition and resettlement support is also provided by unit resettlement staff, Army Education Centre staff (especially the Individual Education & resettlement Officer) and staff at the Regional Resettlement Centre at Catterick operated by the Career Transition Partnership (CTP).

This region is home to 33 local Authorities (LAs), all of which are signatories to the Armed Forces Community Covenant, which commits them to ensuring that personnel suffer no disadvantage as a result of service.  Most councils now have an Armed Forces Champion to represent the interests of the Armed Forces community, and the Transition Officer can signpost personnel to them to help resolve issues related to council-owned services.

Councils in our region include: Northumberland, Newcastle, North Tyneside, Gateshead, South Tyneside, Sunderland, County Durham, Hartlepool, Darlington, Stockton on Tees, Middlesbrough, Redcar and Cleveland, Richmondshire, Hambleton, Ryedale, Scarborough, Craven, Selby, Harrogate, York, East Riding, Hull, Bradford, Leeds, Calderdale, Kirklees, Wakefield, Barnsley, Doncaster, Sheffield, Rotherham, North Lincolnshire and North East Lincolnshire.

Follow the 'Find your Council' link on the right-hand side of this page to learn more about what each council has to offer.


Employment or self employment is often the most important pillar for successful transition. Choosing which new career to pursue will determine what happens with most of the other transition pillars.

Depending on your length of service you will have the benefit of a good deal of support in find the right job. The Careers Transition Partnership (CTP) is the main provider of such help and joins with the Officers Association (OA) and Regular Forces Employment Assoc (RFEA) to provide individual help and guidance.

The Regional Resettlement Centre is situated in Catterick (Follow the CTP link on the right) and provides resettlement support, training opportunities and advice such as interviewing and negotiation (e-mail rrccatterick@ctp.org.uk).

The region is served by four Employment Consultants of the RFEA whose aim is to help service leavers and veterans find employment throughout their working lives:

 Steve Bentham-Bates  0114 261 1312  Sheffield Office
 David Hilton  0113 246 9065  Leeds Office
 Gavin Ball  01325 286 480  Darlington Office
 Gareth Barnes  0191 222 0654  Newcastle Office

If you are an Early Service Leaver (ESL) with less than four years' service, you may still qualify for assistance (speak to your URO/UWO), but your first action after discharge should be to register at your nearest Jobcentre Plus.

CTP also provides access to the “Rightjob” website (Registration and login required) which many potential employers use specifically to attract former service personnel.

Please follow the links below to find helpful resources.

15 (North East) Brigade - Service Leavers Liason Officer

The role of the Service Leaver Liaison Officer is to ensure that service leavers and their families, have the information they need, or are signposted appropriately, to allow them to transition smoothly to civilian life.

Telephone: Not available

Email: 15x-MCI-GroupMailBox@mod.uk

c/o MCI Team
Headquarters 15 (North East) Brigade
Imphal Barracks, Fulford Road
York YO10 4HD